Tuesday, 26 October 2010

Dublin Marathon Success

County Antrim Harriers had 6 athletes in attendance at the Dublin Marathon on Monday 25th October 2010. The race began at 9am under perfect running conditions for the 26.2 miles that lay ahead.

The first duo home for the club in a time of 3:50:55 was Club Coach Russell Hughes and County Antrim Harriers leading lady Christine Murray. They were followed in close succession by club Chairman Greg Hopkins 4:05:02, Andrena Berry 4:06:09 (PB) and Irene Downey 4:06:54 (PB) with both Andrena and Irene claiming a personal best over the distance. The final club member to cross the finish line in a well deserved 4:42:17 and making her marathon debut was Helen Baird.

Congratulations to all who took part, for your training, effort and fantastic times!

Saturday, 23 October 2010

Good Luck! - Dublin Marathon Runners

County Antrim Harriers wish the following members a safe journey and an excellent run on Monday 25th October as they take part in Dublin Marathon: Club Chairman Greg Hopkins, Club Secretary Christine Murray, Mens Captain & Coach Russell Hughes and Club members Irene Downey, Andrena Berry and Helen Baird especially as she makes her marathon debut.

Very best wishes to you all!

We also commiserate with Lisa Morgan, Naomi Hoy, Jonathan Turner & Gary Montgomery, who have trained very hard but through last minute injuries have had to withdraw from Monday's marathon.

Friday, 8 October 2010

Changes At The Top as County Antim Harriers Hold AGM

County Antrim Harriers held a successful Annual General Meeting on Wednesday 6th October 2010 at Barnaby’s Restaurant, Ballyrobert.

In the absence of the Chairperson Debbie Hill due to mitigating work commitments Greg Hopkins assumed the Chair and conducted the proceedings. In his role as Secretary Greg read out his annual report which detailed the club’s activities and successes during 2009/2010. The club had been represented at most of the local races, and also at the Belfast, Newry, London and Las Vegas Marathons, and Half Marathons in Las Vegas, Waterside, Lisburn, Larne and the Great North Run.

Christine Murray was the club’s most competitive and successful athlete winning 14 races during the year, and for the first time ever bringing the UK Fire Service 10k Ladies title back to Northern Ireland. Christine also won the NI Civil Service XC Championship. Irene Downey and Ricky Mason were also out at many of the races, while Russell Hughes and Darren McAllister both excelled and had finishing times of 2hrs 49mins in the London and Belfast Marathons respectively. Gary Montgomery had two Pb’s at Las Vegas and London Marathons, while local butcher Ross McCowan had marathon Pb’s a week apart at London and Belfast, while Paula Hilman, Roberta Henry and Greg Hopkins also doubled up. Claire Oliphant, Andrena Berry, Lisa Morgan, Gillian Hanna and Gary Stitt made their marathon debuts, while Jonathan Turner was the club’s sole representative at the Newry Marathon. The club had 12 out in the Virgin London Marathon, and 7 out the following week in Belfast, and were able to continue their fund raising endeavours for various charitable causes. Ricky Mason won the Charlie Wright Memorial Shield for the club’s handicap series, while Glen Wilson won the Corrigan Cup.

The Treasurer’s Report prepared by Elaine McKee was also duly accepted. Greg thanked both Debbie and Elaine for their efforts over the past 5 years on behalf of the club, with both having previously been presented with gifts to mark their valuable service.

The Election of Officers took place which resulted in the following:
Chairman – Greg Hopkins
Secretary – Christine Murray
Treasurer – Ian McKeown

Committee – Gary Montgomery, Irene Downey, Jim Hodgens, Ricky Mason, Ross McCowan, Andrena Berry, Natalie Davidson, Lyn Hardie

Men’s Captain & Chief Coach - Russell Hughes
Mens’s Vice Captain - Ricky Mason

Ladies Captain - Gillian Hanna
Ladies Vice Captain - Lisa Morgan

Junior Girls Captain - Hannah Welshman
Junior Boys Captain - Stewart Gault

Child Protection Officers - Christine Murray
Russell Hughes
Auditors - Glynis Crawford
Gillian Hanna
Athletics N.I. representative - Christine Murray

The Annual Club Awards were presented as follows

Male Athlete of the Year: Ricky Mason
Female Athlete of the Year: Christine Murray
Veteran of the Year: Irene Downey
Newcomer of the Year: Claire Oliphant
Most Improved Athlete: Gillian Hanna
Performance of the Year: Russell Hughes & Darren McAllister
Young Athlete of the Year: Gary Stitt
Merit Award: Ross McCowan
Charlie Wright Memorial Shield: Ricky Mason
Corrigan Cup for 6 Mile H/cap Race: Glen Wilson

Wednesday, 6 October 2010

Annual General Meeting 6/10/2010

The Annual General Meeting of County Antrim Harriers will take place on Wednesday evening 6th October 2010 at 7pm in Barnabys Restuarant, Ballyrobert. All Welcome

There will be NO official Club Training on Wednesday 6th October 2010

Training as normal on Monday 11th October 2010 at 7pm